Zenni sells a whole category of glasses under $30. Warby Parker's eyeglasses start at $95, prescription lenses included. Both are eligible HSA and FSA purchases when there is a prescription behind the lenses.
That last clause is the whole game. The IRS does not care which website you bought from. It cares whether the eyewear treats a vision problem.
What Qualifies and What Does Not
IRS Publication 502 is short on this point. "You can include in medical expenses amounts you pay for eyeglasses and contact lenses needed for medical reasons." Every rule below comes out of that sentence.
| Item | HSA/FSA eligible? |
|---|---|
| Prescription eyeglasses (frames and lenses) | Yes |
| Prescription sunglasses | Yes |
| Contact lenses and lens solution | Yes |
| Eye exams | Yes |
| Lens upgrades on a prescription order | Yes |
| Over-the-counter reading glasses | Yes, no prescription needed |
| Non-prescription sunglasses | No |
| Non-prescription blue-light frames | No, unless your plan accepts an LMN |
| Plano fashion frames | No |
| Cases, cloths, clip-ons, repair kits | Sometimes, check your plan |
Prescription eyeglasses (frames and lenses)
- HSA/FSA eligible?
- Yes
Prescription sunglasses
- HSA/FSA eligible?
- Yes
Contact lenses and lens solution
- HSA/FSA eligible?
- Yes
Eye exams
- HSA/FSA eligible?
- Yes
Lens upgrades on a prescription order
- HSA/FSA eligible?
- Yes
Over-the-counter reading glasses
- HSA/FSA eligible?
- Yes, no prescription needed
Non-prescription sunglasses
- HSA/FSA eligible?
- No
Non-prescription blue-light frames
- HSA/FSA eligible?
- No, unless your plan accepts an LMN
Plano fashion frames
- HSA/FSA eligible?
- No
Cases, cloths, clip-ons, repair kits
- HSA/FSA eligible?
- Sometimes, check your plan
Readers are the surprise on that list. HSA Store's eligibility page says both prescription and nonprescription reading glasses qualify with an HSA, FSA, HRA, or LPFSA. Zenni calls over-the-counter readers "typically fully covered" by FSA and HSA funds. Readers treat presbyopia, so they count as a medical device instead of an accessory.
Non-prescription is where it falls apart. Warby Parker's own FSA page is blunt about it. "Items like non-prescription sunglasses or accessories aren't FSA-eligible."
Plano blue-light frames land in the same bucket. Some plans will cover them with a letter of medical necessity for a documented condition. Ask your administrator before you assume.
The full category breakdown lives on our Prescription Glasses page. For every other category, see What Can You Buy With an HSA? The Complete List.
Warby Parker: The Card Works at Checkout
Checked September 2026. Warby Parker's HSA page says most HSA cards behave like a debit card.
- ●Online: enter the HSA card like any other payment method.
- ●In store: swipe or tap it at checkout.
- ●If the card does not process: pay normally, then submit the itemized receipt through your provider's portal.
The FSA page says the same, with a note that no extra forms are needed online. The page also spells out what counts at Warby. Prescription glasses, prescription sunglasses, and contact lenses all qualify.
So do eye exams at locations with optometrists, plus lens upgrades. Progressives and blue-light filtering qualify when they are part of a prescription purchase.
If you have no card at all, Warby's instructions are three steps. Buy normally. Download the itemized receipt from your order history. Upload it to your provider's portal.
Zenni: The Card Has to Cover the Whole Order
Zenni takes FSA and HSA cards at checkout too. One rule is worth knowing before you fill a cart.
"The full balance does need to be covered by your FSA/HSA card during checkout."
There is no split payment. If your card has $60 left and the order is $140, the card will not carry it. Zenni's answer is to pay with another method and submit the receipt for reimbursement.
The second thing to know is timing. Zenni says receipts are typically available 7 days after an order is placed.
You pull it from the Orders tab under My Account. Guests use Track My Order instead. Click Print Order and it downloads as a PDF.
Zenni's help page lists prescription glasses and prescription sunglasses as fully eligible. Its FSA/HSA landing page adds over-the-counter readers. Cases, clip-ons, cleaning supplies, and repair kits are listed as sometimes covered.
Side by Side
| Warby Parker | Zenni | |
|---|---|---|
| FSA/HSA card online | Yes | Yes |
| FSA/HSA card in store | Yes, at retail locations | Online checkout only |
| Split payment with a second card | Not stated | No |
| Itemized receipt | Order history | Orders tab, about 7 days later |
| Eye exams | At locations with optometrists | Use your own optometrist |
FSA/HSA card online
- Zenni
- Yes
FSA/HSA card in store
- Zenni
- Yes, at retail locations
Split payment with a second card
- Zenni
- Not stated
Itemized receipt
- Zenni
- Order history
Eye exams
- Zenni
- At locations with optometrists
Both policies were read on their own help pages in September 2026. Retailer policies change. Re-read the page before a large order.
What an Audit-Ready Optical Receipt Shows
A card statement line that reads "WARBY PARKER $312.00" is not a receipt. It is proof that a card was used. If the IRS asks about a 2026 distribution in 2031, that line answers nothing.
Four things make an optical receipt hold up:
- ●Merchant and date. Purchase date, or date of service for an exam.
- ●Line items. Frame, lens type, coatings, and exam fee, each priced separately.
- ●Evidence of a prescription. The lens powers, or a line noting that an Rx is on file.
- ●What you actually paid. The amount after any insurance or vision-plan discount.
Item three is the one that gets skipped. It is also the line that separates a medical purchase from a fashion purchase. Without it, a $312 receipt for frames looks like shopping.
Itemization matters even more on a mixed order. Put prescription glasses and a non-prescription pair in one cart. The breakdown is what lets you claim only the eligible half. Our guide How to Tell If Something on Your Receipt Is HSA-Eligible covers what to look for.
The Year-End FSA Rush
FSA money expires. For plan years beginning in 2026, the health FSA salary reduction limit is $3,400. If your plan permits a carryover, the maximum is $680. Both figures come from IRS Revenue Procedure 2025-32.
Some plans offer a grace period instead of a carryover. The IRS caps a grace period at two months and 15 days. A plan can also offer neither. Your plan document is the only authority on which one you have.
That deadline is why December matters for FSA money. Zenni's own FAQ suggests grabbing a backup pair with leftover funds. For an FSA, that is fair. The money disappears on the deadline either way.
For an HSA, it is bad advice. HSA funds never expire. Nothing about December forces an order.
Two clocks argue for ordering in early December rather than the last week. Prescription lenses are made to order, so delivery is not instant. And a Zenni receipt shows up about a week after purchase. That matters if your claim deadline is December 31.
The Short Version
- ●Prescription lenses make eyewear eligible. Frames by themselves do not.
- ●Warby Parker and Zenni both accepted FSA and HSA cards online as of September 2026.
- ●Zenni needs the card to cover the entire order. No split payment.
- ●Over-the-counter readers qualify with no prescription at all.
- ●Non-prescription sunglasses and plano blue-light frames generally do not.
- ●Save the itemized receipt, not the card statement line.
This is educational content, not financial or tax advice. Consult a qualified professional before making decisions about your HSA.